07.08.04

So now what?

So I haven't written anything worth reading in the last couple of entries so I figure I'll do that now. Enjoy!

So the show is going great! We open tomorrow night (well, tonight - seeing as how it's now 3:30am!) and I'm super the most excited. It's funny to me how shows work. It's like you audition and get cast and then start rehearsing. Then it seems to take FOREVER to get into the theatre, and then once you're there it's like, "Holy shit! Where'd the time go!?" Ya know?

Tonight we had a preview audience of about 25ish people - maybe more. It was nice to hear laughing and applause. We've all been doing the show for so long that it's lost its funniness to us all; so to have a fresh audience that hasn't seen it a hundred times was nice. Al was there and she was laughing a lot! I LOVED IT! At first I thought it was Auntie NaNa, but then discovered it was my beautiful wife. Funny how they sound the same. Hmm.

Banana is SSSOOO DAMN FUNNY!! Oh my gosh, seriously! You guys, if you live anywhere near Mesa, Arizona I'm begging you to come see this show because of her! She is brilliant, and when she wins the Zoni for it I will say, "I told ya!" Seriously, pee your panties funny! Tears streaming down my face, side hurting, the whole deal.

I'm finally having fun. It's amazing what an audience will do for me as a performer. I really try my hardest to keep the material fresh, and to stay in the moment even while rehearsing, but when you throw an audience in front of me I become electrified or something. It's weird. I love it!

I'm still having insecurities and all, don't get me wrong - and the whole stage fright/anxiety thing is still there like HARD CORE!, but I'm having fun with this show! The thing that freaks me out the most is that there's no overture so there's no time for me to freak out, take a few deep breaths and plow through. It's lights up on Jere and GO! Seriously, the house lights dim, there's a black out, and then there's a spot light on me and I start talking!! HOLY SHIT!! No time to freak out becuase there's nothing to save me but me! I hate it and it freaks me out so so so bad!

You'd never think I had stage fright if you saw me in a show, but I think this one shows it. I shake like a leaf and sweat like a whore on half price day and all within the first thirty seconds. I'm completely soaked within seconds and I feel like I can't breathe and my heart starts racing and I freak out inside. It's the weirdest thing to try and describe, but nonetheless it's true.

My sister is coming tomorrow and I'm so excited to have her there. She's an amazing laugher and tomorrow night is the night they video the show "for archival purposes", which basically means we can get a copy of it for $5 bucks. HA! Shh, don't tell!

I wish the Zoni nominations would come out already! Ugh! I hope that Al and I are on there for I Love You...! I had so much fun in that show and I've watched the video at least fourteen times since the show closed May 29th! HA! Seriously, I have. I just loved that show! That was definately one of my most favorite theatre experiences to date.

Okay, I'm sounding in my head like I'm rambling so I'm going to go now. Hope you've enjoied the update. I'll write again soon - probably within the hour knowing me. HA!

Until next time...

Written by Jere at 3:22 a.m.

before | | after


"Hey, I'm not shot!" - 11.09.05
New Spot - 07.08.05
June Recap - 07.01.05
Heeeeeere's Peter! - 05.17.05
Book Club Anyone?? - 05.16.05

[ Registered ]

moon phases

chubbychic
acneboy
suckasspoems
gigantor
trendymatt
savecraig
mynotetoself
joeparadox
azswinggirl
bethany9
princessreva
trevik
caela
f-tard