2004-02-18

Coaching & Idol

Okay, so tomorrow I have another coaching with my friend Stephanie, so I'll have to be up and ready BEFORE Starting Over cause we're meeting between 11 & Noon. We're doing the whole lunch thing and then working. I really love working with Stephanie a lot. She sees things so differently than I do. I mean, I have a good eye for direction, mood, bold choices and so forth, and I am the character Nazi! I believe that without a good, solid character you're nothing but a pile of shit on the stage! You have to define yourself in about 16 bars of a song, throw in emotion, attitudes, and keep it real. There has to be a beginning, middle, and end in the 16 bars that reads effortlessly or you're just wasting the auditioners time, and your own for that matter. Don't expect the call back, and don't cash the check because it'll bounce! Stephanie can take all of the work that I've put into my pieces and tweak them a little, or help me see it in a totally diffrent way, taking a whole new concept for the song and whatnot. If I am having any doubts, questions, or roadblocks, her ideas are so great and her directions are easy to follow and very clearly stated. I would love to work with her as my director any day of the week! I trust her completely and know that she has only my best interest in mind. She was the one who called me about the Disney auditions and coached me right before them, and it really helped calm my nerves and it gave me a boost of confidence. Even though they weren't interested in me, it was a great experience for me. I got to sing for the Disney people and sorta now know what to expect from the Six Flags people. It could be totally different, but I've auditioned for a large theme park company before now so I feel confident about this one. I'm really looking forward to getting in there and showing them my stuff! I'm singing two contrasting pieces, an uptempo and a ballad. Both of which are about being a fat guy! LOL! When I called them the first time and told them I was interested in auditioning for them I clearly explained that, "I'm 26 and weigh over 300 pounds (click here for headshot pic to proove it) so if you're looking strictly for young, skinny people I completely understand." I expressed my interest in coming, but also expressed my interest in being totally upfront and honest with them - I don't wanna spend the money to come out there if you're not looking for character actors, and I don't wanna waste your time auditioning. Ya know what I mean? Anyway, I got my headshots back today AND I LOVE THEM!! I just finished printing my resume on the back. My songs are GREAT! The ballad is from the Broadway show The Full Monty. It's sung by "Dave" who is singing to his stomach, "You rule my world...I tilt my chin and what I see is only you, no feet, no knees...You grumble and I stumble for the meunster cheese..." It's PERFECT TIMES TEN!!! The uptempo song I'm singing is from When Pigs Fly called "Bigger is Better" which of course celebrates girth! "Bigger is better; that's a way to widen you're appeal. What's more delicious: a celery stalk or a ten course gourmet meal?...When your figure starts to spread, that's no cause to hate it. Do what Ziegfeld did instead: decorate it! Celebrate it!...Too much of a good thing is never enough! Come on baby, strut your stuff!...Bigger is better, so better get bigger today!" LOL! If I don't get cast they're liars! I called them and told them I was a fat guy and now I'm singin' songs about it! I'm a proud fatty, and damnit, they better appreciate my humility. LOL!

Okay, now that we've covered that let's recap the ONLY two choices for American Idol this week. First, vocally Lisa was the only choice. Yes, she looks like a hobbit, but WOW! Did you hear her sing?!?! An image consultant will do her a lot of good. Remember what Clay and Kimberly Locke looked like when they first started? Yikes! Secondly, Camile is the only other choice! Everyone else sucked rocks! WOW! I agree with the judges - she probably has the most potential out of all the ones we've seen tonight. I think that once she masters control over her nerves she'll be great and I'll vote for her. I don't even need to mention the utter crap that was Jesus and Noel!! When the judges were being all crappy at the end of the show to everyone all I had to say was, "Hey! You're the retards that moved these people through! DUH!" I mean c'mon, Jesus & Noel?!?!? ARE YOU PEOPLE ON CRACK!?!?! YIKES!!

Okay, well, it's now nearly 2:00am and I have to get up early (9:30 - ha ha ha!) so I'm gonna go night night now. Peace & Love to all!

Until next time...

Written by Jere at 1:12 a.m.

before | | after


"Hey, I'm not shot!" - 11.09.05
New Spot - 07.08.05
June Recap - 07.01.05
Heeeeeere's Peter! - 05.17.05
Book Club Anyone?? - 05.16.05

[ Registered ]

moon phases

chubbychic
acneboy
suckasspoems
gigantor
trendymatt
savecraig
mynotetoself
joeparadox
azswinggirl
bethany9
princessreva
trevik
caela
f-tard